Aaj Jane Ki Zid Na Karo

There is hardly any other ghazal or nazm that I like as much as Aaj jane ki zid na karo – written by Fayyaz Hashmi and rendered by the Malika-e-Ghazal Farida Khanum. I came across this beautiful nazm through Monsoon Wedding movie. A million thanks to Mira Nair for using this song in the OST.

Here’s the original (live) version in Farida Khanum’s full-throated, enchanting voice:

And here’s full lyrics:

आज जाने की ज़िद ना करो
यूँ ही पेहलु में बैठे रहो
आज जाने की ज़िद न करो
हाय मर जायेंगे, हम तो मिट जायेंगे
ऐसी बातें किया ना करो
आज जाने की ज़िद ना करो

तुम ही सोचो ज़रा, क्यों ना रोके तुम्हे
जान जाती है, जब उठ के जाते हो तुम (२)
तुमको अपनी कसम जान-ए-जां
बात इतनी मेरी मान लो
आज जाने की ज़िद ना करो
यूँ ही पेहलु में बैठे रहो (२)
आज जाने की ज़िद ना करो
हाय मर जायेंगे, हम तो मिट जायेंगे
ऐसी बातें किया ना करो
आज जाने की ज़िद ना करो

वक़्त की क़ैद में ज़िन्दगी है मगर (२)
चन्द घड़ियाँ यही हैं जो आज़ाद हैं
इनको खोकर मेरे जान-ए-जां
उम्रभर ना तरसते रहो
आज जाने की ज़िद ना करो
हाय मर जायेंगे, हम तो मिट जायेंगे
ऐसी बातें किया ना करो
आज जाने की ज़िद ना करो

कितना मासूम रंगीन है ये समा
हुस्न और इश्क की आज मेराज है (२)
कल की किस को खबर जान-ए-जां
रोक लो आज की रात को
आज जाने की ज़िद ना करो
यूँ ही पेहलु में बैठे रहो (२)
आज जाने की ज़िद ना करो
हाय मर जायेंगे, हम तो मिट जायेंगे
ऐसी बातें किया ना करो
आज जाने की ज़िद ना करो

There are several other versions of this nazm performed by other singers such as Asha Bhonsle, Anoop Jalota, Richa Sharma (skip over to 4:15 and excuse her banter), Shafqat Amant Ali and Habib Wali Mohammed. (The last one’s from an old Pakistani movie Badal Aur Bijli.) But I don’t think any other singer was able to accomplish the flexion and pathos of Khanum’s rendition.

***

P. S. The meaning of mi’raj in the last stanza is interesting (“husn aur ishq ki aaj mi’raj hai”). Literally, the word means the ascension (or the night journey) of prophet Mohammed to the heavens. In the nazm this word probably means a journey or a supremely joyous occasion.

7 responses to “Aaj Jane Ki Zid Na Karo

  1. I’d say you’ve put words from my mouth into this post!

    “Aaj jane ki zid na karo…” – by Farida Khanum (Monsoon Wedding OST) HAS TO BE on my USB drive in the car no matter what other things I have besides it. I have almost a routine of putting this Ghazal on my way back home – soon as I’m about 5-7 mins away from home, I put it on and make sure the Ghazal is still on while I enter the building and park the car!

    It’s the last thing I like to listen to as conclusion of my work-day and it can’t get any more soothing!!

    Just too good! I’m glad you wrote about it. Outside Bilimora as hometown and Zahir as friend, one more common interest between the two of us.

    • Vishal

      And the song hasn’t aged a bit! It still takes my breath away and arouses the same vague feeling of pathos and serenity that it did a decade ago during the first listen.

  2. Its one of the best I has heard in my life. I used to hear it every day during my Bachelor days…Thank you for reminding me again…

  3. Indeed, what a ghazal ! You say it well; it does take your breath away every single time !

  4. Vrishketan

    hi, thanks for providing the lyrics in devnaagri
    I heard this ghazal in the movie Monsoon wedding when i was quite young and two tracks from the movie(fusebox and this ghazal) made an indelible mark on my auditory cortex.
    yesterday as i was pining for a long lost school crush , the song came back to my mind after these so many years .Great voice , greater lyrics…..

  5. Rita

    So full of feeling one can relate to…
    Heard this over twenty five times today!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers

On Twitter

Categories

